Events Calendar

Looking for something to do in Virginia? Please join us at these public events.

Additional Book & Literature events from all across Virginia can be found on our Literary Calendar.

VFH Events

Exhibit: Forever Free

Portsmouth Community Library before restoration.
Sat. Dec. 21 - Tue. Dec. 1
Where: Portsmouth Community Colored Library Museum
Portsmouth Stories of African American Strivings and Successes

More info »

The Printed Word Endures

PrintedWordEndures
Sat. Jan. 31 - Sat. Apr. 11
Where: Virginia Arts of the Book Center - Charlottesville
Join publication designer and printmaker Josef Beery for an eight-week seminar investigating the nature of the book.

More info »

1963 Danville Civil Rights Movement Exhibit

Local civil rights demonstrators are led away by the police. Photo Courtesy of the Library of Virginia.
Mon. Feb. 2 - Fri. Feb. 27
Where: American National Bank Main Lobby
As part of an exhibit created by VFH Fellow Emma Edmunds, various Danville residents share their lived experiences of the town's Civil Rights Movement.

More info »

2015 Virginia Festival of the Book

vabookheadliners-2015
Wed. Mar. 18 - Sun. Mar. 22
Where: Charlottesville, VA
With hundreds of events free and open to the public, join us as VFH celebrates books, authors, and reading at its 21st Annual Virginia Festival of the Book.

More info »

Vincent Valdez: The Strangest Fruit

The Strangest Fruit (detail), 2013, oil on canvas, 55x92 inches (Courtesy of the artist, Photo by Mark Menjivar)
Mon. Apr. 27 - Fri. May. 29
Where: Staniar Gallery, Washington and Lee University in Lexington
Vincent Valdez' hyper-realistic oil and pastel paintings examine the historical mistreatment of Latinos in the United States.

More info »