Contact Us

Virginia Foundation for Humanities
145 Ednam Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22903-4629
UVA Messenger Mail Only:
PO Box 400749
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4749
Phone: 434.924.3296
Fax: 434.296.4714
Email: vfhinfo@virginia.edu

Staff List

President

Name Title Phone Email
Rob Vaughan President (434) 924-3296 vfhinfo@virginia.edu
Maggie Guggenheimer Assistant to the President and Communications Officer (434) 924-6562 mog3b@virginia.edu

Administration

Name Title Phone Email
Kevin McFadden Chief Operating Officer (434) 243-5520 kmcfadden@virginia.edu
Cary Ferguson Financial Assistant (434) 924-7190 cferguson@virginia.edu
Trey Mitchell Web Communications Officer (434) 924-4584 treym@virginia.edu
Judy Moody Receptionist (434) 924-3296 jmoody@virginia.edu
Jeannie Palin Receptionist (434) 924-3296 jpalin@virginia.edu
Tori Talbot Events Manager (434) 243-8809 toritalbot@virginia.edu
Gail Shirley-Warren Business Manager (434) 243-5524 gshirleywarren@virginia.edu

Center for the Book

Name Title Phone Email
Susan Coleman Director, Virginia Center for the Book (434) 982-2983 spcoleman@virginia.edu
Jane Kulow Program Director, Virginia Festival of the Book (434) 924-7548 vabook@virginia.edu

Development

Name Title Phone Email
Elizabeth Piper Director, Development (434) 243-9069 epiper@virginia.edu
Sarah Mullen Associate Director, Development  (434) 924-6561 skmullen@virginia.edu
Lynda Myers Program Associate, Development (434) 243-5525 lmyers@virginia.edu

Documents Compass

Name Title Phone Email
Laura K. Baker Assistant Editor (434) 924-6890 lkb2k@virginia.edu
Rob Hewitt Program Associate (434) 924-2872 rrh7c@virginia.edu
William Kurtz Assistant Editor (434) 924-4520 wbk2e@virginia.edu
Sue Perdue Program Director (434) 924-4519 ssh8a@virginia.edu
Holly C. Shulman Founding Director (434) 243-8881 hcs8n@virginia.edu

Encyclopedia Virginia

Name Title Phone Email
Matthew Gibson Director of Digital Initiatives and Editor, Encyclopedia Virginia (434) 924-4531 mgibson@virginia.edu
Peter Hedlund Programmer, Encyclopedia Virginia (434) 924-3777 hedlund@virginia.edu
Donna Lucey Media Editor, Encyclopedia Virginia (434) 243-8535 dl5up@virginia.edu
Laura K. Baker Associate Editor, Encyclopedia Virginia (434) 924-6890 lkb2k@virginia.edu
Michelle Taylor Primary Resources Specialist, Encyclopedia Virginia mmt3ej@virginia.edu
Brendan Wolfe Managing Editor, Encyclopedia Virginia (434) 243-5529 bwolfe@virginia.edu

Fellowships

Name Title Phone Email
Jeanne Nicholson Siler Program Associate, Residential Fellowship Program (434) 243-5522 vfhfellowships@virginia.edu
Jerome S. Handler Senior Scholar (434) 924-8978 jh3v@virginia.edu

Grants & Community Programs

Name Title Phone Email
David Bearinger Director, Grants and Community Programs (434) 924-3296 dab@virginia.edu
Vacant Director, African American Programs
Carolyn R. Cades Program Associate, Grants and Community Programs (434) 924-7202 carolyncades@virginia.edu
Jon Lohman Director, Virginia Folklife Program (434) 243-7030 folklife@virginia.edu
Jeanne Nicholson Siler Program Associate, Grants and Community Programs (434) 243-5522 vfhgrants@virginia.edu
Karenne Wood Director, Virginia Indian Programs (434) 924-9946 karennewood@virginia.edu

Radio Programs

Name Title Phone Email
Roberto Armengol Editor, Backstory
(434) 982-2930 armengol@virginia.edu
Nina Earnest Associate Producer, Backstory
(434) 243-5527 noe3r@eservices.virginia.edu
Tony Field Producer, BackStory (434) 924-8922 tfield@virginia.edu
Lilia Fuquen Assistant Producer, With Good Reason (434) 924-4769 lilia@virginia.edu
Emily Gadek Digital Producer, Backstory (434) 243-5466 egadek@virginia.edu
Kelly Jones Associate Producer, Backstory
(434) 243-5527 khjones@virginia.edu
Kelley Libby Associate Producer, With Good Reason (434) 924-6895 klibby@virginia.edu
Elliot Majerczyk Associate Producer, With Good Reason (434) 924-3855 emajer@virginia.edu
Sarah McConnell Producer and Host, With Good Reason (434) 243-5521 smcconnell@virginia.edu
Jamal Millner Technical Director, Backstory (434) 924-4403 jmillner@virginia.edu
Andrew Parsons Associate Producer, Backstory
(434) 982-2955 andrewparsons@virginia.edu
Allison Quantz Associate Producer, With Good Reason
(434) 243-2186 arq5b@virginia.edu
Andrew Wyndham Director, Media Programs (434) 924-6894 awyndham@virginia.edu