fbpx
Published October 1, 2020

In this webinar, recorded October 1, 2020, Yamile Saied Méndez discusses her latest young adult novel, Furia, a powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter.

Set in Argentina, the novel tells the story of a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams. Filled with authentic details and the textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaring romance, and breathless action on the pitch, Furia is the story of a girl’s journey to make her life her own.

“With a mix of Spanish words, vivid dialogue, and rich description, Mendez paints a realistic image of a young woman battling to become herself against the odds . . . A powerful and realistic novel.”—School Library Journal; One of BuzzFeed’s Must-Read YA Books of 2020 and the latest YA pick for Reese Witherspoon’s Book Club!

This webinar is part of our Virginia Festival of the Book’s “Shelf Life” series. Sign up for the Virginia Festival of the Book’s e-newsletter to learn about future discussions as they are announced.

Vanessa Adkins, right, is apprenticing under her cousin Jessica Canaday Stewart learning the finer points of traditional Chickahominy dancing. Photos taken at the Fall Festival and Pow Wow in Charles City on Saturday, Sept. 22, 2012.

Our work brings people together and honors our shared humanity.

CLOSE