fbpx

Join author Wesley Browne at the Buchanan County Public Library for a discussion of his debut 2020 novel Hillbilly Hustle.

“Wry, thrilling debut … will appeal to fans of Daniel Woodrell and Charles Portis.” – Publishers Weekly

Plot Synopsis: Knox Thompson thinks he’s working a hustle, but it’s a hustle that’s working him. Trying to keep his pizza shop and parents afloat, he cleans out a backroom Kentucky poker game, only to get roped into dealing marijuana by the proprietor—an arrangement Knox only halfheartedly resists. Knox’s shop makes the perfect front for a marijuana operation, but his supplier turns out to be violent and calculating, and Knox ends up under his thumb. It’s not long before more than just the pizza shop is at risk.

About the Author: Wesley Browne is the founder and host of Pages & Pints Reading Series at Apollo Pizza in Richmond, Kentucky. He lives with his wife and two sons in Madison County, where he practices law, co-owns and helps manage local restaurants and a music venue, and coaches sports. HILLBILLY HUSTLE is his debut book.

Our work brings people together and honors our shared humanity.

CLOSE