Event

African American Foodways Cooking Demonstration

Stratford Hall’s 1738 kitchen will become center stage with historical interpreter and chef, Dontavius Williams. Cooking traditional African American dishes, Williams will share stories of plantation kitchen labor and the …

September 22, 2020 | 7PM | Online
Event

The Kinship of Plants and People

Ethnobotanist Enrique Salmón discusses his new book, Iwígara: The Kinship of Plants and People, which includes the belief that all life-forms are interconnected and share the same breath; with Lilia …

September 24, 2020 | 12PM | Zoom Webinar
Event

Working with Immigrant/Refugee Children & Families: Session 2

Join us for the second in a series of teaching webinars in collaboration with the Virginia Department of Education’s history and social science program. With engaging group discussions, visits from …

September 24, 2020 | 3:30PM – 5PM | Online
Event

#OwnVoices Fiction

Join Yamile Saied Méndez as she discusses her latest young adult novel, Furia, a powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect …

October 1, 2020 | 12PM | Zoom
Event

Working with Immigrant/Refugee Children & Families: Session 3

Join us for the third in a series of teaching webinars in collaboration with the Virginia Department of Education’s history and social science program. With engaging group discussions, visits from …

October 1, 2020 | 3:30PM – 5PM | Online
Event

Vanguard: How Black Women Broke Barriers, Won the Vote

Join us for a conversation with Johns Hopkins University professor Martha S. Jones, author of the critically acclaimed, recently published Vanguard: How Black Women Broke Barriers, Won the Vote, and …

October 2, 2020 | 4PM | Online
Event

Food, Politics, & Colonial Women with Dr. Nancy Siegel

A Taste of Democracy: Federal Cake, Liberty Tea, and Culinary Activism in the Early Republic. Moderated by Stratford Hall’s Director of Programming, Education, and Visitor Engagement Dr. Kelley Fanto Deetz, …

October 3, 2020 | 7PM | Online
Event

Family Secrets in Fiction

Join beloved novelist Jill McCorkle for a discussion of her latest book, Hieroglyphics, in conversation with author Brendan Mathews. This deeply layered and masterful novel explores what it means to …

October 8, 2020 | 12PM | Zoom
Event

Monument Lab & Creative Speculations Where You Live

Paul Farber (Monument Lab: Creative Speculations for Philadelphia) discusses his work as a co-founder of The Monument Lab, which works with community members to reimagine public spaces through stories of …

October 15, 2020 | 12PM | Zoom webinar
Event

Detecting Women

Join crime novelists Hilary Davidson (Don’t Look Down) and Rachel Howzell Hall (And Now She’s Gone) as they discuss their newest books, their experiences as crime writers, writing strong women …

October 22, 2020 | 12PM | Zoom webinar

Apply for a grant or fellowship

Open grant application deadlines are April 15th & October 15. Fellowship application deadline is December 1.